Spread the love

The Speaker of Oyo State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Joshua Olagunju Ojo has today inaugurated the 3rd Assembly of Oyo State Youth Parliament at the House of Chiefs, Parliament Building, Secretariat Ibadan, which has Hon. Adegoke Adesoji Ayobami from Ogbomosho South Constituency as the Speaker of the 3rd Assembly of the youth parliament in the state, and Hon. Adebayo Taoheed from Kajola constituency as the Deputy Speaker.

In his keynote address, the Rt. Hon. Speaker, Olagunju Ojo express his pleasure of being the one inaugurating the Youth Parliament of the state, and appreciate the initiative behind the existence of the parliament.

While addressing further, Rt. Hon. Olagunju Ojo made it known that, the youths play a vital and very critical roles in developing a society and in government decision making process, then, this platform will help the ever progressive youths to make their voice known through the opportunity given to them and be on the fore front of engaging political leaders on critical national issues that affect them.

The Special Assistant to the Governor of Oyo State, Hon. Afeez Bolaji Repete while making the keynote address on behalf of the Commissioner For Youth and Sport, made it known that, the State Youth Parliament is a replica of the State House of Assembly with membership drawn from Thirty Two (32) constituencies in the state. He further urge the 32 assembly members of the youth parliament to be of good conduct and contribute meaningfully to the decision making process of the state government.

Among the dignitaries present at the inauguration, Hon. Ademola Ige (OYHA Chairman, House Committee on Foreign Affair), Hon. Fatai Adesina (Chairman, House Committee on Youth and Sport), Iyaloja of Ibadanland and host of many other.

See also  Nigeria Hosts 54 Countries, others to Africa Internet Governance Forum 2023