Spread the love


The President of the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Senator Godswill Obot Akpabio, CON, has dedicated his investiture as a UI@75 Ambassador Extraordinaire to the 10th Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

He said that his investiture was an honour to his colleagues who found him worthy to be elected President of the Senate.

The Senate President who spoke at his investiture in Abuja said he was highly honored to have been recognized by the University of Ibadan.

He stated that his relationship with the University of Ibadan was deep-rooted because his

uncle, who later became an eminent Physician, was one of the pioneer students of the University College, Ibadan.

He noted that the University of Ibadan had produced a lot of eminent Nigerians, and the University is rated one of the best in Africa and the world.

He said that the fact that the University has over 400 students from different parts of the world is an affirmation that it is truly universal.

Senator Akpabio urged the management of the University of Ibadan to continue to uphold the tradition of excellence for which the University is known.

He assured that the Senate would partner with UI in capacity building, training and retraining of the members of the Senate.

He said the University management had done well, adding that the Senate would support it as well as participate actively in the celebration of the University at 75.

When the Senate President jokingly put it to the functionaries present, the ‘Ayes’ have it while the ‘nays’ were absent.


Among the functionaries of the Senate to support the Senate President were the Deputy Senate President, Senator Barau Jibrin; Deputy Chief Whip, Senator Oyetola Ashiru; Chairman of the Appropriations Committee, Senator Solomon Olamilekan Adeola; Chairman of ICT and Cybersecurity Committee,  Senator Shuaib  Afolabi Salisu; Chairman Agriculture and Food Security Committee, Senator Saliu Mustapha; Chairman Women Affairs Committee,  Senator Ireti  Kingibe; and Chairman of Banking and other Financial Institutions,  Senator Tokunbo Abiru. Several other Senators were also in attendance.

The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Kayode O. Adebowale, mni, FAS, led the team from the University of Ibadan. The team included the Registrar,  Mr Ganiyu O. Saliu; the Chairman of the UI@75 Anniversary Committee, Professor Peter O.  Olapegba; Chairman of the Intra-Campus Transport Committee, Professor Olumide Olajide; and Public Relations Officer, Mrs Adejoke O.  Akinpelu.