Spread the love
The Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan, Professor Kayode O. Adebowale, mni, FAS, has reiterated the commitment of the institution to enhance the research capacity of staff and students. To this end, he pledged that his administration would support the Agribusiness Incubation Centre already established in the University.
He made these statements when he received members of the Association of Deans of Agriculture in Nigerian Universities (ADAN) during a courtesy call in his office.
The VC said the Incubation Centre could make use of the Ile Ogbo farm of the university, which is situated on a large expanse of land and has farm houses.
Professor Adebowale lamented that over 70% of Nigerian farmers do not apply science, innovation, and technology, thus having poor yields from their efforts whereas farmers in the industrialized world who apply science, innovation and technology have sufficient crops to
meet domestic and export needs.
He also regretted that Agricultural Extension services have completely collapsed in Nigeria.
The President, Association of Deans of Agriculture in Nigerian Universities (ADAN), Professor Olumuyiwa J. Jayeoba said
the wish of ADAN was to expand the Agribusiness Incubation Centre to an Agric Industrial Park.
He said the Park would be a model for students of agriculture to have practical hands-on experience in the cultivation of cassava, improve their entrepreneurial capacity as well as venture into the production of Bioethanol for industrial uses.
He said the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) and ADAN will provide the seedlings and the processor, adding that the project would eventually benefit the students, the Faculty, the University as well as the nation.
Prof Jayeoba requested the University to provide the needed land and a tractor to cultivate the land. He also requested that the University create a Directorate to ensure the proper management of the Agribusiness Incubation Centre.
Other members of ADAN on the visiting team were: Prof. Folusho David-Abraham, Chair, Board of Trustees; Prof. M. A. Bamikole, Immediate Past President and Prof. N. I. Odiaka, Secretary, Board of Trustees. Deans and staff of the Faculties of Agriculture; and Renewable Natural Resources accompanied the visitors.
See also  Oyo Govt. May Enforce Exam Malpractice Act — TESCOM Chair