Spread the love


OYO STATE — As President, Bola Tinubu intensify efforts to quickly set the ball of governance rolling by compiling and sending ministerial nominee names to the Senate for proper screening and recommendation for the President, there have been here and there horse trading from the interested and qualified Nigerians from the 36 states of the federation.

APC Bolaji Paul Gbengbeleku


Thus, the question of who will nominate for the state not under the control of President Tinubu’s party, APC, has stirred further the unsettled water of crises rocking those states.


A peep into the Oyo State situation revealed many things that will be happening in other non-APC states, and most especially the states under the membership of G5-Governors under the control of former Gov. Nyesom Wike.


Many have allegedly grown goosebumps from the state chapter of President Tinubu’s party, APC, with the recent visits of Gov. Seyi Makinde and other members of ‘Unity Group” to the president, and hours of closed-door meetings.


Kindly recall that the G5 Governors, especially, Oyo and Rivers states tactically and openly support the candidacy of now President Bola Tinubu. And mathematically, the margins obtained from both states by Tinubu may be considered to be a major part of his winning margin used to defeat the trio of Atiku Abubakar of PDP, Peter Obi of LP, and Rabiu Kwankwaso of NNPP.


With many names popping out from Oyo State, who will have his way into the final list of President Bola Tinubu?


See also  We've Received 3,000 Bags of Rice from FG — Makinde, Says as SAfER Palliatives Kicks Off

There is an unofficial report that four names were officially submitted for ministerial appointment from Oyo state, with Gov. Makinde’s choice of Hamed Raji SAN and Joseph Olasunkanmi Tegbe, while APC Oyo state nominate her 2023 gubernatorial candidate, Sen. Teslim Folarin and that of South-West APC Elders is Dr. Mrs. Florence Ajimobi, wife of former governor of Oyo State, Late Sen. Abiola Ajimobi.


Away from that, there is interest as well from some stakeholders Tinubu holds dearly into his heart, and also the former Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Sunday Dare, former CBN Deputy Governor, Bayo Adelabu FCA, FCIB, OFR, NCC Chairman, Prof Adeolu Akande, Azeez Adeduntan, former Health Commissioner Oyo State, former NBA Chairman, Akeem Agbaje, and few others to mention.


Who will wear the ministerial crown of Oyo State? Is Tinubu ready to rock the bolt of Seyi Makinde and other G5 governors by picking outside their nominees?